Make a Promise

Hello, my name is Jayme, and I…am a reality TV addict! HA!

I often say that while these shows are a LOT of ridiculousness, there are times that I find pleasure in knowing that rich, poor, and in-between, we are all human and often go through a lot of the same situations and trials. It’s interesting to me to see how other people in different cultures and tax brackets resolve these issues!

Mercedes Javid from Bravo's Shahs of Sunset

Mercedes Javid from Bravo’s Shahs of Sunset

One of the shows I watch is Bravo’s Shahs of Sunset. Character “MJ” is a plus size Persian who, to me, is absolutely beautiful. But to her mother, she is beautifully flawed. While I think MJ has developed thick skin from the years of negative talk from her mother, I watch to see how she overcomes some of her insecurities. Earlier in the show as her ‘eyelash expert’ made a house call for her weekly scheduled appointment, MJ explained how she makes a promise to herself and that is her nails and her lashes – something special that she makes sure she does for herself on a regular basis.

I don’t know about you guys, but I’m always doing for everyone else and this hit home with me! So I decided to make my own promise to myself…nothing big, I have no ‘eyelash expert,’ but something as simple as a mani/pedi every other week! I kicked off my promise by treating my sister to her pre New Year’s mani! It was wonderful to sit in that chair and just be pampered for the day!

spa day

What will you promise yourself? Until next time, BE your priority!

BE Blessed: Today I am blessed to have a great relationship with my sister.

3 thoughts on “Make a Promise

  1. Firstly, I think its great that you have realised that you need to do a little something for yourself once in while 🙂 But I’m a big confused, not sure if I’m reading it right – did your sister get the mani/pedi or did you? Or did you take her along with you?

Leave a Reply

