SONday Fun Day

As I explained, I am a mother of two…one of which began his first year of middle school this year! What a ‘big boy’ milestone! All of a sudden, just ‘any ole shoe’ isn’t good enough and he cares if things actually match. My once basketball-shorts-and-a-polo wearing, color clashing ‘tween’ now finds it necessary to be ‘fly’.

He, like me, needed to find a style of his own, a slight upgrade from the style that was ok for elementary school (trucks, animals, and graphic tees), but would for sure have him shoved in a locker in middle school!  I believed in keeping a piece of his personal style, knowing he loves his t-shirts and hoodies and wants to be comfortable. Also important is that he understands cost and value. I don’t want him at his age, without a job, fascinated with labels.  He’s still growing, very much a boy (rough), and therefore his clothing needs to remain affordable and replaceable. 

Keeping that in mind we hopped in the car and headed for the mall for a “Mommy and Me” day! My only rule for him was that he be open-minded and willing to try on any and everything! I did my research on the latest teen and men fashions before we went and had a few things in mind that I wanted to try.

sonday1

At the end of the day we came to the conclusion that skinny jeans were OUT!! Poor thing couldn’t breathe! He said they squeezed his bladder!!  Edgier graphic tees and more fashionable hoodies were IN!  I am in love with his new style and, more importantly, so is he.  When you look good, you feel good and confidence is something I instill in both of my boys. We left the mall that day with new clothes and a great new attitude.

Until next time, BE fly!

BE Blessed: Today I am blessed to be a mother of two wonderful, growing boys.

Leave a Reply

