OOTD: Rip the Runway!!

HAPPY FRIDAY!! I am in a GREAT mood today!! This weekend is the official kickoff of my birthday celebrations and Fashion MaBE’s First F.I.T Event with Makeup Artist Dee Marie! So today I wanted to pep up my normal Friday work wear to make my outfit match my mood!  I received some notification about a sneak peek at the upcoming Rip the Runway show I think. I keep a folder of looks that I’d like to try, and every now and then I recreate them with my own pieces.  Today, I did just that!  scarf as tie

I saw this picture and loved how they used a scarf with this button down shirt.  I went thru this phase at work with trying to rock a tie and no matter how much I tried to doll it up, it still came off very masculine to me.  The look with this scarf adds a touch of femininity.

I decided to dress up my dressed down look using this inspiration. I grabbed my denim F21+ button up (~$20), my F21+ coral skirt…I am obsessed with coral right now ($8-$9 <–these skirts are GREAT steals), and my Avenue knee-high boots (bought on clearance for $21) and this scarf that I found at H&M for around $12-$14. I will be honest, I am very frugal for the most part and I originally LOVED this scarf, but didn’t want to pay $12-$14 for it so I left it there. I later found myself back in H&M and saw it again and still loved it so I bought it and I’m glad that I did.  I learned that pieces that could potentially make an outfit, I don’t mind spending a little more on them…nothing ridiculous though. My sister just bought a necklace from JCPenny that I absolutely LOVE, but she spent $40 on it and NEVER would I do that…sorry sis 🙂 ! Anyhoo, so here you have it!  What do you think? Would you rock it?

487305_4469903107341_1004599552_n

Leave a Reply

